South American Soccer Cup Returns in 2011

Click to Comment → Print

Argentina will host the South American Cup in 2011, which was inaugurated in the country in 1916. Argentina and Uruguay have won the most titles in the tournament’s history — 14 each. Argentina’s last win was in 1993.  Julio Grondona, an Argentine Football Association leader, also wants to re-invite Mexico and Japan, bringing the total number of competing countries to 14.  He was quoted in an AP piece as saying, “Argentina doesn’t have any problems [hosting Japan and Mexico], Now the other South American countries just have to give their OK.”  This would mark the 8th time the tournament has been held in Argentina and would be the 95th rendition of the championship.

What Do You Think?